link roundup

March 11, 2008

I’m still knitting away on my Pomatomus socks, about halfway down the instep at this point. They should be done in the next few days, and I’ll post a FO report with pics. (Speaking of pics, I need to apologize for my not-so-great photos. I’m using an old HP Photosmart camera that can only take 5 pictures at one time on the highest quality setting – and even that setting is pretty crap. We have a better Canon Powershot camera, but the lens is broken and we are still working on getting it fixed. Anyway, onward with the post!) I’m also working on some gift knitting that I don’t want to post yet, so that will be coming as well.

Here are a few links I’ve been digging lately:

  • Look at this gorgeous sweater! These days I want all my clothing to feel like walking around in a cocoon blanket, but this is like a sophisticated, beautiful family heirloom blanket. [via knitsane]
  • I’m planning a trip to the Museum of Art and Design to view Pricked! in early April. Last winter they had the Radical Lace and Subversive Knitting exhibit, which I really enjoyed, and I’ve been anxious to see this new exhibit which seems like a logical extension of the first. I haven’t heard much talk about it, but one of my favorite poet/artists was involved in the public programming…
  • Jen Bervin! She has been working on a set of Emily Dickinson’s fascicles in a project that combines poetry and embroidery. (Take a look around her site at some of her other projects; if you are interested in embroidery and other fiber arts and poetry AT ALL, you will probably be fascinated!)

I also brought out my sewing machine this weekend and used it for the first time to make an improvised CD holder and the No Cash Wallet from Bend the Rules Sewing by Amy Karol. No pictures, unfortunately, as we were being assaulted by sheets of rain all day. I think maybe I named my blog too soon! I have too many ideas for just one craft…

Leave a Reply

