yarn review: Vickie Howell Craft

March 4, 2008

I recently had the good luck to receive a large box of leftover balls of yarn from Cirilia and left over skeins from a few others via the Stash and Burn Ravelry Group.  Because I don’t have a large yarn budget these days, and I’ve been wanting to improve my techniques and abilities, I’m taking these wayward skeins as an opportunity to try new yarns and knit swatches of new stitch patterns at the same time.  I hope to do a series of posts reviewing the yarns, stitch patterns, and techniques I try, and to also post ideas for future knitting projects that these little adventures give me.

****

This yarn is a-mah-zing.

In the Ravelry Stash and Burn group, we have a thread Nicole started called “Would you like to try…?” People post about leftover or partial skeins they have, and send them to other people who want to feel it, swatch it, basically give it a try.

Lynnewio sent me a partial skein of Vickie Howell Craft yarn from South West Trading Company a few weeks ago and I’m just now swatching it up.

craft swatch

This yarn is luuuuussssshhhh. Seriously. 70% cotton and 30% milk fiber, dk weight. It feels like buttah between my fingers, and this swatch is so slinky. (I’m learning that I love swatches. Now I just have this soft piece of knitting I can touch whenever! And I don’t have to worry about whether or not it fits or if the color looks good on me!)

I’ve read a few posts on Ravelry where people didn’t enjoy knitting with this yarn because of significant pilling.  I didn’t have any pilling while knitting with it, but I also haven’t washed my swatch yet.  I plan to wash it and put in my bag for a while to see how it holds up.   I would like to knit Imogen in this yarn on larger needles for a very drapey, Habu-esque layering piece.

(BTW, have you looked at the kits at Perl Grey?!  I want to knit so many of these pieces!)

2 Responses to “yarn review: Vickie Howell Craft”

  1. ana Says:

    I’m pretty sure my pal KnitJoKnit used this yarn for a hat… the slinkiness leads to a lot of stretch so be warned. It does feel amazing though. It will be great for a scarf or shawl where stretch isn’t a big deal. Good luck!

  2. jenny Says:

    that’s an awesome little swatch! that yarn looks very pretty. you can knit things i can only dream about! anyways, just wanted to thank you for your comment on my blog and linking to me. congrats on starting your own blog–looks like you’re off to a great start!


Leave a Reply

