FO: Hedera Socks

April 21, 2008

Several weeks ago I was going on and on about gift knitting I couldn’t talk about. Sometimes I forget about how the internet isn’t really private, so I quit talking about a knitting project I’d already put pictures of all over the place. I knit GFF’s mom a pair of Hedera Socks! Here they are:

Hedera No. 2

Pattern: Hedera by Cookie A., from Knitty.com
Yarn: Soxx Appeal from Knit One Crochet Too in color 9553 Teal (bought at Downtown Yarns in NYC)
Needles: Knitpicks dpns, size US 1.5

This is the second time I’ve knit these socks, and I found the pattern really enjoyable again. I first knit a pair for GFF out of Knit Picks Essential, and happened to be in Tulsa when I was working on them. Debbie loved them so I decided to knit her a pair, too. The pattern repeat is four rows, easily memorized. I did 17 repeats of the lace pattern on the leg instead of the recommended 14 – I like my socks to be a little longer and I make them that way for everyone else, too.

Hedera No. 2.b

(sorry for the blur!)

Soxx Appeal is super-stretchy, similar to Cascade Fixation, although it is constructed really differently. I originally knit one skein in the Baudelaire pattern (also Cookie A., but I swear I knit socks from other designers, too!). The sock turned out way too small, so I ripped and re-knit the yarn for this pattern. The yarn didn’t look so good when I originally ripped it out, but after being re-knit it looked fine, just like the other sock. It is supposed to be superwash but I haven’t tested it out in the laundry. I gave them to Debbie while I was there and she wore them around a lot, even inside a pair of shoes. They seemed to wear well and feel good! It was awesome to see her enjoy them.

Unfortunately, we didn’t have a digital camera on our trip so I don’t have a picture of them on her…or as a pair.  Oops!  Maybe I will do an update post one day with more pics and info on how they have worn.

At this point, I would go to this pattern as a…go-to.  For gift socks, especially.  They go quite quickly for me now, and are pleasurable to knit.  I’d like to knit myself a pair of socks in this yarn, too!  It’s really soft and the stretchiness makes your socks a lot easier to get on.

Next up:  updates on what I’m knitting now.  (I’ve already decided to rip out the soysilk shrug I showed you a few posts ago because it was way too big on top of the fact that it was never going to be as cute as I imagined.  [My advice to raglan-in-the-round knitters:  try it on very early in the knitting!  Continue to try it on frequently!!  Even if it means putting in a life line every few rows and you find that really annoying and are convinced that you still need to increase about eleventy more times!!!]  After ripping that sucker out, I think I’m going to knit Ysolda‘s Cloud Bolero in the Soysilk.)  Plus socks that aren’t Cookie A.’s, what may possibly be my first finished garment, and the must-have knit of the season — still to come at knitwhere!

One Response to “FO: Hedera Socks”

  1. gleek Says:

    hedera is such a great pattern. yours turned great!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

